catmull-1Ed Catmull, currently the president of Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios, has been named this year’s recipient of the Academy’s Gordon E. Sawyer Award for “his lifetime of technical contributions and leadership in the field of computer graphics for the motion picture industry”. Catmull co-founded Pixar, as well as the computer graphics laboratory at the New York Institute of Technology and the computer division of Lucasfilm. This will be the fourth time the Academy has honored Catmull. The Sawyer Award is presented to “an individual in the motion picture industry whose technological contributions have brought credit to the industry.”